What's Art, and What's Not

What’s Art, and What’s Not

Doxnhmg

While I’m no expert in the matter at all (I took art classes in Grades 7-9 if that counts for anything), I have, on more than one occasion, engaged in friendly debate over what constitutes art. Mona Lisa? art. SrGrafo’s comic strips? art. This stupid red square?

Okay, now you’re really pushing it. I wouldn’t call this art per se… maybe more like a colored shape. Of course, you might disagree. But hear me out! For I think I’ve reached a pretty foolproof classification system. You see, there are primarily two things to consider in distinguishing whether something is art:

1. The intention
  2. The affirmation

The Intention

In other words, was it the intention of the artist to create a work of art in the first place? If not, then it shouldn’t be considered art. I find it hard to believe that a passerby could possess such authority as to claim the contrary. What a load of hubris to believe that they know better than the person who made it as to what that thing is in the first place. For instance, an artist’s rough sketch, uneaten banana, or slab of marble, don’t qualify as art. They are but a roadmap, a light snack, and a slab of marble in that order. It may be called art only after the artist chooses to declare it so. Not before. Of course, it’s all in the branding. Until something is branded as art, we’d likely not even know it exists. The art that we see and hear about, are precisely those things that the artist has chosen to brand as such.

Ok, so we have just established that for an artist, art is something to be declared, just like bankruptcy. But what happens after they claim something to be art? Well, we can agree, but we don’t have to.

The Affirmation